Read, discover and learn

About Read it yourself

Read it yourself is Ladybird's celebrated classic series featuring traditional stories that are part of every child's inheritance. Best of all, they are designed so that children can read them for themselves. 

The stories are carefully graded into four reading levels: they are ideal supporting readers as they are built around high frequency (key) words.  There is lots of confidence building repetition and the stories are fun to read.

Level 1 is for children who have begun to take their first steps in reading, by phonic or key word approaches.

Level 2 is for beginner readers who can read very short, simple sentences, with help.

Level 3 is for children who have completed their initial reading instruction and who are ready to progress to slightly longer stories.

Level 4 is ideal for children who are eager to read stories with a wider vocabulary.


All of the levels are great for reading to your children and talking about the beautiful, lively illustrations.

back to top

When to use the books

The most rewarding time to use Read it yourself is once two books in the Ladybird Key Words Scheme have been mastered.

Back to top

How to use the books

There are good, realistic notes for parents in each book. There are also a set of notes for teachers using levels 1 2 3, in appendix one of these notes.

Back to top